Polly Woodside

Overview

View & Hide Overview content

The historic Polly Woodside was originally built in 1885 and is owned and operated by the National Trust. Following a significant restoration it was officially reopened to the public in May 2009 and is now an iconic feature of riverside Melbourne at Dukes Dock in South Wharf.

The Victorian Government provided $8.86 million for the refurbishment of Dukes Dock, while the Plenary Group and the National Trust provided $4 million for works on the adjacent area and on the Polly Woodside itself.

The project enabled the Polly Woodside to be periodically dry docked, providing the National Trust with the opportunity to undertake restoration works on the ship’s hull. This has ensured the Polly Woodside survives into the future as a reminder of Melbourne’s maritime history and tourist attraction.

The final result is a fantastic new tourist attraction for the South Wharf area and the precinct around the new Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre.

Major Projects Victoria continues to manage the restoration project on behalf of the Victorian Government.

Quick Facts

View & Hide Quick Facts content